Mother

Our moms have so many godly characteristics that can’t be explained by any means other than by divine origins.  We have a tendency to picture God as an old man with a long white beard.  Thanks medieval art!  But that is not what God looks like.  In fact, God isn’t a man either.  Although referred to in the Bible as a “He,” God is not male.  God is beyond gender.  Mankind was made in the image of God, both male and female.  God created both men and women with divine characteristics.  Both sets of characteristics that we would define as “male” or “female” traits, however we might define those, come from God. 

We often think of our mothers as caring, compassionate, patient, protective, and nurturing.  My mom was.  These are characteristics that have been given to them by God.  In Mathew 23: 37-38 Jesus says, “O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you, how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, but you were not willing.”  Here we see Jesus wanting to care and protect Israel like a hen protects her chicks.  There is nothing more divine than the idea of a mother caring and protecting her children. 

I would not be able to count the amount of times that my mother saved me from daily injury and trouble when I was in her care.  I gave her many scares.  She tells me about the time that she lost track of me and then found me inside a drier.  And it was on!  She also told me of a time when she set me on the washing machine to “help” as she was loading clothes.  She bent down to get more clothes to load.  When she got back up she only saw my two legs sticking up out of the washer.  Apparently I cannot be trusted around laundry equipment.  Thank God for our mothers!

Leave a Reply

