911 Remembered

I can’t believe it has been ten years since 911 happened.  I remember clearly where I was and what I was doing when it happened.  What a terrible day!  I have a friend who lived in Shankville, Pennsylvania, the site where the plane went down due to the heroic efforts of its passengers.  My friend showed me pieces of the plane that he collected from the site.  He gave me a piece that I still have.  It gives me an eerie feeling to hold that piece of rubble.  Every time I think of what happened that day I am reminded that we are surrounded by both evil and good.  I try to focus on the heroic and compassionate actions that happened in the hours, days, months, and years following the tragedy.  I am thankful that we have a God who brings justice and peace in this world and in the world to come.

Leave a Reply

