Shared Ingredients

Jamie and I have noticed that we are beginning to confuse Luke’s and Hannah’s voice.  They have just recently, now that my son is speaking so much better, begun to sound so much alike.  They have similar tones in their voices.  Some have discovered that the unique tone was derived from the Custer LOUD gene.  It is a very rare but useful gene, especially if you were going to be an outdoor cattle auctioneer or a street performer.  I am kidding of course but their voices are loud and similar.

When Jamie and I were talking about this we were amazed at the similarity of their voices.  But why should we be?  They are brother and sister.  As we thought about this I said, “You know, we shouldn’t be amazed at this because they do share the same ingredients, they are just mixed a little different.”

It occurred to me the other morning, as I rubbed LA Looks gel in my hair while overseeing the process in the mirror, that all of us share the same ingredients.  I am not talking about all us Custer’s, although we do all have LOUD voices and thick hair that needs lots of taming lube.  I am talking about all of us people.  I thought about how God has indeed created all of us with the same ingredients.  We all have a soul that longs for God, we all have sinful natures that we fight against, and we all recognize beauty and evil in this world.  It all boils down to the fact that we have all been created in the image of God.  Nothing else was made in God’s image.  Those are special ingredients!

When I look at Hannah and Luke, I hope I can always remember that they have such precious ingredients, not just because they are heirs of Drew and Jamie Custer, but because they will forever be heirs of the King.  They are made in the image of their heavenly Father.  This is true of all of us.  I praise the Lord for the ingredients he used in creating us.  He carefully mixed us together making us uniquely who we are.

“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”Psalm 139: 13-14

Leave a Reply

