God is Faithful

A college man walked into a photography studio with a framed picture of his girlfriend.  He wanted the picture duplicated. This involved removing it from the frame. In doing this, the studio owner noticed something written on the back of the photograph:  “My dearest Tom, I love you with all my heart. I love you more and more each day.  I will love you forever and ever. I am yours for all eternity.”  It was signed “Helen,” and it contained a P.S.: “If we ever break up, I want this picture back.”

Helen had a lot to learn about commitment.  The bible often speaks of commitment to God and others using the word faithfulness.  I am often reminded that in my own relationship with the Lord, I can lack faithfulness.  I show this when I don’t act the way I should, or when I don’t live with the faith that I should, and when I don’t serve others in the way that I should.  The bottom line is that I show through my life that I am guilty of not being as faithful to the Lord as I should.  Just as Helen went about her relationship with her boyfriend lacking a mindset that was committed to her boyfriend, sometimes I treat the Lord the same.

One thing that I never doubt is how faithful God is to us.  Paul says in 1Cor 1:9, “God, who has called you into fellowship with his Son Jesus Christ our Lord, is faithful.”  We all know, or need to know, how faithful God has proven himself to us through Jesus and how he continues to be faithful to us no matter how unworthy we are, as long as we keep moving ahead.  Look at 1 John 1:9, “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.”  How faithful is our God and I am glad that is working in me to make me more faithful to him and others every day.

Leave a Reply

