As the Deer

“As the deer pants for streams of water,
so my soul pants for you, my God.
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.
When can I go and meet with God?
My tears have been my food
day and night,
while people say to me all day long,
“Where is your God?”
These things I remember
as I pour out my soul:
how I used to go to the house of God
under the protection of the Mighty One
with shouts of joy and praise
among the festive throng.”

Psalm 42:1-4

My thirst for you should propel me to actively seek your life giving water.  But why do I sometimes act like deer content with thirst?  Forgive me when I don’t pant for your water.  I never want to forget the refreshing taste of your life giving presence.  Help me to seek you always— in times of joy and tears.  In life, when I taste my own tears, help me to remember the water that will truly quench my life’s thirst.  Help me to pour out my soul to you.  Help me to pour out the polluted mess that is within my heart so I have room to receive the nourishment that you send my way.  I am thirsty for you Lord.  Help me always to recognize my inner need for you and be ready to actively pursue you to quench it.

Leave a Reply

