Quench

“The whole Israelite community set out from the Desert of Sin, traveling from place to place as the Lord commanded. They camped at Rephidim, but there was no water for the people to drink. 2 So they quarreled with Moses and said, ‘Give us water to drink.’

Moses replied, ‘Why do you quarrel with me? Why do you put the Lord to the test?’

3 But the people were thirsty for water there, and they grumbled against Moses. They said, ‘Why did you bring us up out of Egypt to make us and our children and livestock die of thirst?’”

-Exodus 17:1-3 (NIV)

Thank you for rescuing me from guaranteed death in the desert of Sin.  Man was wandering in the desert lost, hungry, and thirsty.  You showed us a way out through Jesus.  Thank you for the desert rescue that came through Him.  Forgive me when I grumble like these Israelite wanderers.  You rescued them and all they could do was complain.  They shouted at you like you were their servant, not their rescuer.  They demanded, “Feed Me!  We’re thirsty!  We are going to die!  Did you save us just to make us suffer?”  Forgive me when I grumble just a few steps removed from your compassionate rescue.  How blind I can be to your glowing love.  Even though I grumble you still listen to me as you listened to them.  You still gave water from the rock to quench their thirst.  Help me to seek to have my thirst quenched by you and you alone.  You are my rock of salvation, hope, victory, and water.  You will not let me die thirsty; you quench the souls of men.

Leave a Reply

