Trekking Up Mount Shavano

Our group at the peak of Mt. Shavano

I was privileged to go on Trek with Wilderness Expeditions this year.  We drove to Salida, Colorado, then for next 5 days we climbed a mountain.  We climbed Mount Shavano which peaked at 14,229 feet.  We needed all five days to do it because…it was a mountain.  It was grueling, long, and at times very steep.  On top of all this we were losing oxygen as we went up.  This big boy felt it.  The climb was worth it.  It was truly majestic to see the view as we climbed.

I didn’t know what I would experience during this trip, other than exhaustion and discomfort, but it did surprise me that what I experienced more than anything was humility.  The large mountains reminded me of how small I really am.  As I looked from the mountain peak at tiny green trees below, I was reminded of how big those evergreen trees really were when I stood next to them the day before.  In comparison to the mountains and from the vantage point of the peak, everything is small, especially me.

Since the trip, Psalm 36:5-7 really means something to me.

“Your love, Lord, reaches to the heavens,
your faithfulness to the skies.
Your righteousness is like the highest mountains,
your justice like the great deep.
You, Lord, preserve both people and animals.
How priceless is your unfailing love, O God!
People take refuge in the shadow of your wings.”

Even though we climbed almost 6,000 feet we still did not reach the sky.  The size of the sky is incomprehensible.  This is the same with the love of our Lord.  The highest mountain in the world in Mount Everest which stands at 29,000 feet, over twice as high as the peak we reached.  Wow that’s high!  Most domestic flights don’t fly that high.  That is how we are to think of the Lord’s righteousness.  I came away from this experience being reminded of how small I am in comparison to God’s creation, but I am reminded even more of how great are God’s love, faithfulness, and righteousness, and I will be forever thankful to be called one of His children.

Leave a Reply

